Marlena Shaw: Spice Of Life LP

Marlena Shaw

Sorry Sold out

Cadet, 1969

Marlena Shaw's penchant for stylistic variety is certainly evident on this, her sophomore release. Spice of Life ranges from soul and proto-funk to jazz and MOR-hued material. Across this sound spectrum, Shaw is enveloped in unobtrusive yet exciting pop-soul environs, throwing kalimba runs, psych guitar accents, and bongo-fueled organ riffs into the mix.


Side A

  1. Woman Of The Ghetto
  2. Stormy Monday
  3. Where Can I Go?
  4. I'm Satisfied
  5. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free)

Side B

  1. Liberation Conversation
  2. California Soul
  3. Go Away Little Boy
  4. Looking Through The Eyes Of Love
  5. Anyone Can Move A Mountain