Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Ella Fitzgerald: Ella At Zardi's LP

Ella Fitzgerald

Verve, 2018

Recorded in February 1956 at a Hollywood jazz club, “Ella At Zardi's” features the entirety of the evening's two-set, 21-song performance, with an inspired Ella, backed by the stellar trio of pianist Don Abney, bassist Vernon Alley and drummer Frank Capp, singing and swinging in front of an animated, adoring crowd. Recorded just days before she cut the album that catapulted her to stardom, her Verve debut, “Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Cole Porter Song Book,” this essential set remained unreleased for 60 years until its release on CD in 2017 – and is presented here on vinyl for the first time.


Side A

  1. It All Depends On You
  2. Tenderly
  3. Why Won't You Do Right
  4. Cry Me A River
  5. In A Mellow Tone

Side B

  1. Joe William's Blues
  2. A Fine Romance
  3. How High The Moon
  4. Gone With The Wind
  5. Bernie's Tune

Side C

  1. 'S Wonderful
  2. Glad To Be Unhappy
  3. Lullaby Of Birdland
  4. The Tender Trap
  5. And The Angels Sing
  6. Can't Give You Anything But Love

Side D

  1. Little Boy (Little Girl)
  2. A-Tisket, A-Tasket
  3. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
  4. Airmail Special
  5. I've Got A Crush On You


  • Ella Fitzgerald - vocals
  • Don Abney - piano
  • Vernon Alley - bass
  • Frank Capp - drums