Charles Mingus: Pre Bird (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

Charles Mingus

Mercury, 1961

For this 1961 release, Mingus chose music composed before he heard the revolutionary playing of Charlie Parker. The album features large ensembles and includes two swing-era contrapuntal 'mash-ups', with one song playing out of the left channel and another from the right.


Side A

  1. Take the A Train
  2. Prayer For Passive Resistance
  3. Eclipse
  4. Mingus Fingus No. 2
  5. Weird Nightmare

Side B

  1. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
  2. Bemoanable Lady
  3. Half-Mast Inhibition

Verve's Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.