Cassandra Wilson: Blue Light ‘Til Dawn (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition) 2LP

Cassandra Wilson

Blue Note, 1993

One of the most distinctive voices in modern jazz, Cassandra Wilson made her artistic breakthrough with her visionary 1993 Blue Note debut Blue Light ‘Til Dawn. Wilson wove an alluring tapestry of jazz, blues, folk, and R&B into a singular sound that opened up new avenues of expression for vocal jazz, paving a path that future vocalists from Norah Jones to Lizz Wright would follow. Produced by Craig Street, the album’s inventive instrumentation and Wilson’s riveting vocal performances transformed songs by Robert Johnson (“Come On In My Kitchen” & “Hellhound On My Trail”), Joni Mitchell (“Black Crow”), Van Morrison (“Tupelo Honey”), and more.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A1: You Don't Know What Love Is
A2: Come On In My Kitchen
A3: Tell Me You'll Wait For Me

B1: Children Of The Night
B2: Hellhound On My Trail
B3: Black Crow

C1: Sankofa
C2: Estrellas
C3: Redbone

D1: Tupelo Honey
D2: Blue Light 'Til Dawn
D3: I Can't Stand The Rain