Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Art Blakey: The Big Beat LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

Art Blakey

Blue Note, 1960

Art Blakey’s 1960 hard bop classic, The Big Beat introduced one of the greatest line-ups of The Jazz Messengers with the legendary drummer joined by trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Merritt. Three of the six tunes here were composed by Shorter including “Lester Left Town,” but the album is best known for an unforgettable version of Timmons’ enduring hit “Dat Dere.”


A1: The Chess Players
A2: Sakeena's Vision
A3: Politely
B1: Dat Dere
B2: Lester Left Town
B3: It's Only A Paper Moon


This Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


  • Recorded - March 6, 1960 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Engineer - Rudy Van Gelder
  • Producer - Alfred Lion