Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Madlib - Shades of Blue (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series) 2LP


Blue Note, 2003

“On Shades of Blue”, renowned hip-hop producer and DJ, Madlib, raids the fabled Blue Note vaults, revisiting and reinventing timeless classics for the 21st century. Cuts range from deep remixes that bring out the funk in tracks like Donald Byrd’s “Stepping Into Tomorrow” and Ronnie Foster’s “Mystic Brew” (here retitled “Mystic Bounce”), to full band reworkings by Madlib’s Yesterdays New Quintet and others of essential evergreens including Horace Silver’s “Song For My father” and Wayne Shorter’s “Footprints.”

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A1: Introduction
A2: Slim’s Return
A3: Distant Land
A4: Mystic Bounce

B1: Stormy
B2: Blue Note Interlude
B3: Please Set Me At Ease
B4: Funky Blue Note
B5: Alfred Lion Interlude

C1: Stepping Into Tomorrow
C2: Andrew Hill Break
C3: Montara

D1: Song For My Father
D2: Footprints
D3: Peace / Dolphin Dance
D4: Outro
  • Recorded - The Bomb Shelter, Los Angeles
  • Producer - Madlib