Alice Coltrane: Journey In Satchidanada (Acoustic Sounds Version) LP

Alice Coltrane

Impulse!, 1971

Journey in Satchidananda's distinctive sound world is composed of the meditative drone of the tamboura, the plaintive bowed bass, Pharoah Sanders’ restless soprano saxophone and Alice Coltrane’s expansive, glittering harp. It’s a work that distills the best of Alice Coltrane: her own distinctive creative and spiritual vision, imbued with the presence of her late husband John. The inspiration for the album came from Swami Satchidananda, Coltrane’s own ‘spiritual preceptor’ and in the liner notes, Alice hopes that ‘Anyone listening to this selection should try to envision himself floating on an ocean of Satchidananda’s love, which is literally carrying countless devotees across the vicissitudes and stormy blasts of life ot the other shore. Satchidananda means knowledge, existence, bliss’


Side A:

  1. Journey In Satchidananda
  2. Shiva-Loka
  3. Stopover Bombay

Side B:

  1. Something About John Coltrane
  2. Isis And Osiris
  • Recorded - 4 July, 8 November 1970, Coltrane Home Studios, Dix Hills, New York
  • Producers - Alice Coltrane, Ed Michel